The Big Question in IA

How do we create an authentic, technically challenging solution to a real world problem?

Description and resources for IA

From the IB Subject guide:

Internal assessment is an integral part of the course and is compulsory for both SL and HL students. It enables students to demonstrate the application of their skills and knowledge, and to pursue their personal interests, without the time limitations and other constraints that are associated with written examinations. The internal assessment should, as far as possible, be woven into normal classroom teaching and not be a separate activity conducted after a course has been taught.

The internal assessment requirements at SL and at HL are the same. However, these requirements contribute to a different percentage of the overall mark. Students are required to produce a solution that consists of a cover page, the product and the documentation. The focus of the solution is on providing either an original product or additional functionality to an existing product for a client.

The internal assessment component (solution), as well as being practical and productive, forms an important part of the assessment of the computer science course. It is imperative, therefore, that the teacher provides appropriate guidance to students.

Transfer goals

Your IA is a practical final exam. You should be able to apply your understanding of solving a complex problem for a client, and then solving any problem for any client. 

Related IA standards

Daily notes with the topic IA

Notes for current academic year (2021 - 2022).

Date Course Tags
Monday 30 August 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Monday 30 August 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Wednesday 1 September 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Wednesday 1 September 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Friday 3 September 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Friday 3 September 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Tuesday 7 September 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Tuesday 7 September 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Thursday 9 September 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Thursday 9 September 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 ia
Tuesday 9 November 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 15 November 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 ia sub
Wednesday 17 November 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 17 November 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 19 November 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 19 November 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 23 November 2021 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 29 November 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 1 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 3 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 7 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 9 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 13 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 15 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 17 December 2021 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 11 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 13 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 13 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 17 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 17 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 19 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 19 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 21 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 21 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 25 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 25 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 27 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 27 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 31 January 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 31 January 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 2 February 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Wednesday 2 February 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 4 February 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Friday 4 February 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Tuesday 8 February 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12 substitute
Tuesday 8 February 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12 substitute
Thursday 10 February 2022 IB Year 2 Higher Level Computer Science grade_12
Thursday 10 February 2022 IB Year 2 Standard Level Computer Science grade_12
Monday 9 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11 ia
Monday 9 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11 ia
Wednesday 11 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11
Wednesday 11 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11
Friday 13 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11 ia
Friday 13 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11 ia
Tuesday 17 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11
Tuesday 17 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11
Thursday 19 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11
Thursday 19 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11
Friday 27 May 2022 IB Year 1 Higher Level Computer Science grade_11
Friday 27 May 2022 IB Year 1 Standard Level Computer Science grade_11